Annual Meeting Committee on Canadian Labour History 5 June 1991

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 12:15 p.m.

ATTENDANCE (36)

Peter Bischoff **Bettina Bradbury** Gail Cuthbert Brandt Joan Butler Sean Cadigan Peter Campbell Cecilia Danysk Peter DeLottinville Karen Dubinsky M.J. Earle Stephen Endicott Geoffrey Esen Jacques Ferland Nancy Forestell David Frank Julie Gerard Craig Heron Franca Iacovetta

Greg Kealey DonMacGillivray Lynne Marks Steven Maynard Peter McInnis Dan Moore Suzanne Morton Jim Naylor **Bryan Palmer** Ian Radforth Keith Ralston Barbara Roberts Mark Rosenfeld Marianne H. Rude Michael Smith Mercedes Steedman Jeff Taylor

John Wunderlich

AGENDA

Adopted as presented.

Minutes of last meeting, adopted as published in *Labour/Le Travail*, 26 (1990), 257-9.

438 LABOUR/LE TRAVAIL

REPORT OF THE TREASURER AND EDITOR

Greg Kealey distributed the 1990 Financial Statement and reported that, as in recent years, subscriptions and sales of *Labour/Le Travail* are steady at slightly over 1200 copies. The Table of Contents of number 28 (Fall 1991) was distributed.

REPORT OF THE PRESIDENT

CPC-ML libel suit

Bryan Palmer reported that the libel suit launched by members of the Communist Party of Canada (Marxist-Leninist) against officers of the CCLH is still at its early stages. (Information on the suit, which arose from the Committee's publication of Jack Scott: A Communist Life, edited by Bryan Palmer, is available in the Bulletin of the Canadian Historical Association, 16 (Fall 1990). Palmer noted the support which has been received from the Canadian Historical Association, the Universities involved, as well as from librarians who share our concern to defend freedom of expression.

CHA proposal re: teaching of labour history

Bryan Palmer reported that the Canadian Historical Association is interested in producing a series of small books containing course outlines in various fields and the CCLH has been approached to prepare such a volume on labour history. Palmer agreed to collect outlines and report his progress next year. The suggestion that further discussion be held at a session on teaching labour history be held at next year's symposium on working-class history was referred to the organizers of the event.

CHANGE OF NAME

M/S/C: That the name of the "Committee on Canadian Labour History" be changed to the "Canadian Committee on Labour History."

REPORT OF THE PUBLICATIONS SUB-COMMITTEE

Craig Heron reported on the results of the survey of university teachers of labour history to determine the feasibility of publishing a collection of essays drawn from Labour/Le Travail. The Sub-Committee found no consensus on what to include in such a volume and, given the imminent publication of a selection of readings edited by L.S. McDowell and I. Radforth, considered that such a book would have a limited market. It therefore recommended that the CCLH not proceed with such a project. It also found only limited support for smaller, more specialized, publica-

tions and, while immediate publication was not recommended, it will continue to investigate whether there are niches for any such booklets.

REPORT ON ARCHIVES

Peter DeLottinville reported on the progress of the Labour Archives Programme of the Manuscript Division of the National Archives and noted that Colleen Dempsey has been named the new labour archivist of the division. It was announced that part of the finding aid to RG 146 (CSIS records) deposited in the National Archives has been opened to the public. Also, another very large collection of CSIS material has been transferred to the National Archives.

SYMPOSIA ON CANADIAN WORKING-CLASS HISTORY

Bryan Palmer was thanked for organizing the symposium held in Kingston. David Frank (UNB) and Raymond Léger (RWDSU, Chatham, NB) have volunteered to undertake the organization of next year's symposium in Charlottetown. The following suggestions were made regarding the format of the event: There should be a greater emphasis on workshops on such topics as teaching labour history; there should be fewer sessions in order to facilitate more discussion; and there should be a social event at the end of the day.

ELECTIONS

The executive was re-elected by acclamation:

President: Bryan D. Palmer (Queen's)

Vice-President: Kathryn McPherson (York)

Treasurer: Gregory S. Kealey (MUN) Secretary: James Naylor (Winnipeg)

Publications Sub-Committee:

David Frank (UNB)
Veronica Strong-Boag (UBC)
Bettina Bradbury (Montréal)
Jacques Rouillard (Montréal)

The Meeting adjourned at 1:30 p.m.