Labour / Le Travail
Issue 86 (2020)

Contributors / Collaborateurs

Christo Aivalis holds a doctorate in history from Queen’s University and was a recent sshrc Postdoctoral Fellow in the Department of History at the University of Toronto. He is also the author of The Constant Liberal: Pierre Trudeau, Organized Labour, and the Canadian Social Democratic Left (2018).

Timothy J. Bartkiw is an associate professor in the Department of Human Resource Management and Organizational Behaviour and the Faculty of Law at Ryerson University, where he teaches courses in industrial/labour relations and labour and employment law, and directs the Ryerson Centre for Labour-Management Relations.

Alison Braley-Rattai is an assistant professor in the Department of Labour Studies at Brock University, where she teaches in the area of labour and employment law and policy.

Mason Godden is a PhD candidate in the School of Labour Studies at McMaster University. His dissertation project will examine left-wing nationalism in the Canadian labour movement from 1960 to 1980 by focusing on various mobilizing and organizing campaigns led by the Confederation of Canadian Unions (ccu) during the period.

S. Sándor John is an adjunct associate professor of history at Hunter College, City University of New York. He is the author of Bolivia’s Radical Tradition: Permanent Revolution in the Andes (2009) and El trotskismo boliviano: Revolución permanente en el Altiplano (2016).

Rob Kristofferson is professor of history and coordinator of the Graduate Program in Social Justice and Community Engagement at Wilfrid Laurier University.

Stephanie Ross is director and associate professor in the School of Labour Studies at McMaster University. Her research focuses on the nature and dynamics of internal debates within unions over key questions of structure, democracy, bargaining priorities, political vision, political strategy, and collective identity.

Larry Savage is professor in the Department of Labour Studies at Brock University. He is principal investigator for a sshrc-funded research program (with Stephanie Ross) on academic unions, collective bargaining, and contract academic faculty, and he serves as a member of the collective bargaining and economic benefits committee of the Canadian Association of University Teachers.

Charles Smith (PhD York) is an associate professor in the Department of Political Science at St. Thomas More College, University of Saskatchewan. His research interests include Canadian and international political economy, public law, labour unions, and federal and provincial public policy. He is the author of Transforming Provincial Politics (2015), Unions in Court (2017), and most recently (with Craig Heron) The Canadian Labour Movement, 4th ed. (2020). He has also authored numerous articles on Saskatchewan politics, labour in court, and labour history and is coeditor of Labour/Le Travail.

Janis Thiessen is a professor in the history department at the University of Winnipeg. She is the author of four books: Manufacturing Mennonites (2013), not Talking Union (2016), Snacks: A Canadian Food History (2017), and Necessary Idealism (2018).

Eric Tucker is a professor at Osgoode Hall Law School, York University, and Distinguished Scholar in Residence at Cleveland-Marshall College of Law, Cleveland State University. He has written on a wide range of labour and employment law issues as well as their history. He is the author of Administering Danger in the Workplace (1990) and co-author (with Judy Fudge) of Labour Before the Law (2001) and has edited and co-edited several volumes, including Working Disasters (2006), Work on Trial (2010), and The Class Politics of Law (2019).

James Watson is a PhD candidate in the Department of Sociology at McMaster University. His research examines union and state responses to economic crises.